Orange Breakfast Bulgur with Pumpkin Seeds

Orange Breakfast Bulgur with Pumpkin Seeds from Bon Appetit’s Food Lover’s Cleanse.

I ate this as slowly as I could fantasizing about a never-ending bowl that would magically refill itself before my heart warming, orangey breakfast bulgur was gone. There’s still more cooked bulgur in the fridge.  I suppose I could always eat this again tomorrow.  And the next day…

photo (24)

photo (25)

In a small saucepan, combine ½ cup plain cooked bulgur (if you dont have leftover cooked bulgur, substitute ½ cup old-fashioned oats and add ¼ cup water and a pinch of salt to the pan), ½ cup unsweetened almond milk, 1 tsp. honey, and 1 tsp. finely grated orange zest; bring to a boil. Reduce heat and simmer until bulgur absorbs all liquid, about 10 minutes. Sprinkle with 1 Tbsp. toasted shelled pumpkin seeds (pepitas).

