Blanched Asparagus, Cucumber and Hard-Boiled Egg Salad

20140519-200950.jpg

 

Yesterday we went to the Asparagus Festival in Altedo outside Bologna.  We came home with a bunch of high-quality  IGP Asaparago Verde di Altedo.  I’m reading Cathy Erway’s book The Art of Eating In and checked out her blog Not Eating Out in New York for the first time today.  On the front page was a recipe for a Blanched Asparagus Salad with Cucumber, Hard-Boiled Egg and Bacon.  I had most of the ingredients on hand so I gave it a go.  I made it without the bacon and scallions which I’m sure bring this dish to the next level, but I was still pleased with the results.  One of the great things about following bloggers who eat seasonally is that taking a look at your RSS feed gives you recipe ideas for items that likely complement what’s at the Farmers’ Market or in your CSA box.

